Day two in good Olde England

Can’t attach my photos right now, but we left High Wycombe this morning. Wish we could have stayed another day!

We drove to Chatham Kent and stopped at our old Sweet Shoppe to buy chocolate brazils and lemon sherbets, most of which have been eaten now (and not by me). I finally drove on the left hand side of the road, all the way into Birmingham and our hotel. Scary, but I survived. Too tired to sit down, so I swam, did water aerobics, hot tub and steam room. That kept me busy until it was time to get showered and ready to meet my sister-in-law, Monica. Quick drink at the bar and then off we went to a Caribbean Restaurant. Fabulous food, kalalou, curry goat, rice and peas, fried dumplings….all the things you shouldn’t eat, but can’t resist! Washed it down with Champagne (what else?) and followed it up with some wonderful coconut ice-cream brownie. Yum, and oh yes, my tummy is very full.

Whilst enjoying these culinary delights, I met several people I had never met before, and who’s names I will have to be reminded of, but I really enjoyed meeting them. I think they would be, cousins on Lester’s side. Some of them very young (six month old twins, a three-year old and a ten-year old), each one of them a pleasure to meet. The evening went way too quickly and I hope to meet this newly found family again, even if just to keep in touch with on face book. It was lovely to meet them.

Returned to the Birmingham Marriott with Monica, Lester’s big sister and we had a night-cap before retiring! Exhausted.

Tomorrow, Terri (Lester’s younger sister) comes to town and we are all going to Bilston for another family get-together and more wonderful Caribbean food. Can I take anymore?????? You bet I can. Delicious home cooked Jamaican food, who could refuse. Mix it with family I don’t get to see too often and it equals a perfect day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    May 26, 2011 @ 17:16:37

    Sounds like you are having a wonderful time!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

