Party Central in Bilston!

We had a busy and fun time in Birmingham and Bilston. I Slept like a log on Thursday night after our lovely meal with family I never knew I had. On Friday morning I  took a long walk to New Street, the Bullring and the Mailbox shops in Birmingham, all very nice. The best bit though, was the market. There were Market stalls as far as the eye could see. Indoor and outside. I stood for a while and listened to the ‘barrow boys’ shouting about their wares.

Monica at party central!

At around one o clock Monica and Teri, Lester’s sisters turned up, along with Teri’s son Miles. After a liquid lunch, we followed them to Lester’s brother’s house Bilston. Dolty (Lester’s sister-in-law) took us for a brief visit to the cemetery to visit Indiana Regina Thompson’s grave (Lester’s mum). After that it was PARTY TIME.

I am pretty sure the whole of Bilston knew we were partying as the huge speakers blasted reggae music into the night. More curried goat, fried dumplings, fritters, chicken, ribs and the most delicious Jamaican rum cake.

Party in full swing

It was incredible how many people squeezed into Dolty and Ten’s house. It was a very chilly night, but the BBQ in the garden (and the rum) kept the chill away. I think there may have been a hundred people there. We were so honored and thrilled that they all took time to come and see us. Joanna was overwhelmed and happy to meet family she never knew she had. The Thompson side of the family is big, and getting bigger. We held the cutest looking kids you ever saw, seriously!

I reconnected with family I hadn’t seen in over 20 years, and met others for the first time. Lester was having a blast, as was Joanna. As the night progressed the music got louder and it reminded me of the seventies and eighties. Ten used to be a DJ and his music collection spans time.

We were sad to say our goodbyes at the end of the night.

We had a very slow drive from Birmingham to Darlington (county Durham). Rain and road works made it hard going. We made it though and arrived at my brother Bill’s in the late afternoon. Nice to see him, now I know why I am so eccentric, I follow in his footsteps. We will get together more over the next few days (and maybe I will actually sneak a photo of him).

Tonight it is the reunion with my nieces, and their family (who I will be meeting for the first time).

Lester's brother 'Ten'

Leave a Reply

