Davie Bowie – my very first concert!

I am going to a concert tomorrow night at Red Rocks. It’s actually my first concert at Red Rocks and I am looking forward to it immensely. Maroon Five, Train and Gavin DeGraw.

I remember my VERY FIRST concert ever. It was at Earls Court in London and I hardly slept for a week beforehand because it was (and still is) my favorite performer of all time…..David Bowie. I hope you like the You Tube video below, this is how he opened his concert on that amazing night at Earls Court.

I was only 16 when I travelled all the way from North Yorkshire to see my Idol and I was so determined to get a good view that I talked my way into front row seats by saying I was a photographer for Melody Maker. Is Melody Maker still around? I doubt that anyone believed I was really a professional photographer as I was carrying a cheap Polaroid camera, but they let my friend (Linda Squirrel) and I sit at the front.

What a view!

We were almost crushed when the crowd surged forward, but it was worth it. We were so close to David Bowie (and Mick Ronson) we could almost touch them. Mick Ronson was wearing a bowler hat that night, which he threw into the crowd and I grabbed it. I had it for years.

I still have the photos I took that night. I loved every minute of that concert, my first and favorite. 1973 was a long time ago, but I remember this concert like it was yesterday.

One of my other favorite David Bowie songs is on this second clip. Enjoy him with Mick Ronson.

David Bowie weathered the storm, I would love to see him again.

If you enjoy reading about the sixties, seventies and eighties check out my short stories:

Leave a Reply

