Please let me work! PLEASE!

When we planned our move to America, I was excited at the prospect of not working. Isn’t everyone? I wanted to be a lady of leisure, that didn’t last long.

When you are working, you want to stop, when you aren’t working, you want to work again. I had held a full-time job my whole life, and when we moved to America, I had been glad of the rest.

I loved being home when Joanna got in from school, but Joanna was growing up and wanted things that cold be only bought when both parents were working. We all wanted things that needed a dual income. I needed my work visa so bad.

As luck had it, an attorney had taken a shine to me. He like the idea of having a Legal Assistant/receptionist with a British accent. As I like the idea of having a job, this worked out very well. Once an attorney gets involved, things begin to move. It only took a few months for me to be the proud owner of a visa allowing me to work in the United States. I could not believe I was excited about working. I felt like the guy below, from ‘Boys from the Blackstuff’.

In February of 1996 I started work in a small quirky Law Firm. The pay was awful, and I didn’t expect it to increase much, but I was getting the experience I needed, as well as making friends and new contacts.

I got to go to court and sit through Jury Trials. I contacted Private Detectives, talked to Judges. It was a whole different line of work for me, and at times I felt like I was in some crazy American movie. It was exciting!

Life was changing quickly for us. I hadn’t planned on working full-time ever again, but there I was in a full-time job. We had lived in Colorado for a little over a year, and I was beginning to feel like I had lived here my whole life.  I still had my British accent though!

To read my short stories, or follow my Facebook page, check out the links below:

Leave a Reply

