Sunday Morning Coffee and Labor Day!

Labor day weekend! I am very glad for three days off work, but as an implant to America, and an exBrit, I had no idea what Labor day was all about.

I googled it of course, which was a big mistake, and left me very confused.

I read several reasons for it being a holiday, all to do with the workers of course. What ever the reason, I appreciate it. For my  friends and family in England, who may be reading, see below.

Detroit Labor Day Parade

According to Samuel Gompers, Labor Day differs from all other holidays celebrated in our country in every essential aspect. Unlike other holidays, Labor Day is not a celebration of any particular event or person, nor is it a religious event; Labor Day is the day to commemorate the efforts and contributions of all the working class men and women of our nation. The first Labor Day was celebrated on 5th September 1882 (which was a Tuesday), in the New York City. Who actually founded the idea of Labor Day holiday, is a slightly debated topic. While some historians credit this feat to Peter McGuire (General Secretary of The Brotherhood of Carpenters&Joiners and cofounder of American Federation of Labor); others believe Matthew Maguire, a mechanist, proposed the idea in 1882 while serving as the secretary of Local 344 of International Association of Mechanists in Paterson, N.J. Well, whoever might have proposed the idea, it was finally the Central Labor Union that finally accepted the proposal and set up a committee to plan a celebration and demonstration on 5th September 1882. Later the labor unions chose first Monday of September to celebrate Labor Day because it occurred halfway between Independence Day and Thanksgiving Day

All I knew when I celebrated my first Labor Day here in the United States (in 1995) is that you weren’t supposed to wear white shoes or trousers after labor day as it as a bad fashion statement.

It was a huge outdoor grilling weekend as it marked the last holiday weekend of the summer.

It is a three-day weekend, the weather is gorgeous, it’s the last Holiday before Thanksgiving.  I am going to make the most of it.

Tomorrow I am going for a bike ride, but today…………I am going to labor on my novel. ‘Dead of July’.

Follow me on Facebook or check out my short stories for $0.99. See below!

Leave a Reply

