Michael Jackson

My first Michael Jackson Concert was in 1988 at Wembley Arena. It was an amazing event. The London weather let us down and it rained, but it didn’t spoil the magic. After standing at the front of Wembley Arena and being crushed by thousands of people trying to get as close to Michael as possible, I was exhausted, but it was worth it. I was 31 in 1988.

My second Michael Jackson concert was in 1992. This time we took our 7-year-old daughter, who of course was a big fan. Who wasn’t? Michael Jackson was a little strange, but lots of people are a little strange. Why couldn’t they just leave him alone.  The concert in 1992 was amazing. My 7-year-old daughter chanted “We want Michael” with the rest of them. He did not disappoint. He was DANGEROUS!

And now it is January 6, 2012. Michael Jackson is no longer with us, but his legacy lives on. I am 54, my daughter is 27 and the amazing ‘Cirque de Soleil’ are paying homage to Michael with their ‘Immortal Tour’. Of course I am going to be there! When Michael Jackson died a part of me died too. His music got me through some bad times in my life and I think about him every day. His body may be dead, but his music lives on.

 

Michael Jackson – IMMORTAL

 

Leave a Reply

