I Love to Travel – San Leo – Italy

I love to travel. My favorite place to visit is Italy.

In 1982 I lived in Germany with my husband, I was 25, he was 26. We took a wonderful road trip together which took us from Dortmund , through the Alps to Italy. Our destination was Rimini, which is on the Adriatic Coast of italy.  The scenery as we drove through the Alps was breath-taking. The car we owned in 1982 was a black Alfa Romeo Giulietta. It was perfect for the journey. Not quite as perfect as the Lamborghini Countach that sped past us. It was so low and sleek that we could barely see it in our rear view mirror.

 

We spent a long relaxing days on the beach in Rimini, but we did take a couple of trips into the country.  My favorite trip was to San Leo, which is a small town surrounded by rolling hills. We roared into the small cobbled town in our black Alfa Romeo, and were immediately stopped by the Polizia “calme” they said. It was hard to drive an Alfa Romeo quietly. It was a noisy aggressive beast, but my young husband tried.

 

We parked the car and wandered around the ancient streets. It was like stepping back in time.

San Leo is the place where the ‘Spaghetti Westerns’ were filmed in the sixties. I loved those movies, especially ‘The Good, the bad, and the Ugly.

You could picture Clint Eastwood and Lee Van Cleef riding through these streets, guns holstered, but ready to draw.

We visited the castle on top of the hill, tasted local delicacies and took dozens of photographs. In 1982 you got 36 photos on a roll of film. I think I used up at least two rolls of film the day we visited in San Leo. I do plan to go back one day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our last view of San Leo was unforgettable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My new novel, which will be released in late spring, is called ‘Dead of July’. It is set in Dortmund, Germany in 1982.

Follow me on Facebook for updates.

My two short stories are free to Amazon Prime members (e-book only) and can be obtained from the links above.

 

Leave a Reply

