Beware of supplements not approved by the FDA

I am a very healthy 55-year-old woman. I have hardly ever taken antibiotics or prescribed medication of any kind.

I work-out, walk, snowboard, hike and bike. I eat fresh healthy foods, nothing processed or pre-prepared.

I am not a vegetarian, but I prefer white meat and fish. I eat steak sometimes, but not often.

In January of this year I started to take a supplement that was recommended to help my cholesterol, which was minimally high, not high enough to warrant any hard-core medication.

In the middle of January I became extremely ill. So ill that I had several days off work. That is almost unheard of for me.

I felt nauseous and dizzy. I was lifeless, had muscle pain and could barely make it through my turbo kickboxing and body pump classes. I almost passed out twice on my way home from these classes. I visited my doctor several times, was sent for numerous tests, including an MRI.

After being over $1000 out-of-pocket, and still no closer to solving my problem, I retraced what had changed in my diet. I had started taking the new supplement a week or so before all of these symptoms started. I immediately stopped taking all supplements, and then reintroduced them one at a time (all except one).

Guess what? I feel better. The new rogue supplement was the problem.

Not sure what would have happened had I continued to take it. Kidney failure? Who knows? I have informed the company who produce it, but I am warning you all to take care of your health and be careful of what you put in your body.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. essaykaywrites
    May 03, 2012 @ 20:15:16

    So sorry to hear this happened to you, but thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

