A lifetime of vacations! Brixham to Mexico!

 

I have begun packing for my vacation to Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. It is one of my favorite vacation destinations. Sun, sand, good food, beautiful sunsets and relaxation.
The staff in this luxurious, friendly ‘all inclusive’ resort help to make your vacation perfect.

I would say that the Grand Velas in Nuevo Vallarta is without doubt one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. It brags of three first class restaurants which are so good it would be hard to pick a favorite. A true Mexican paradise.

Brixham was where I spent my very first vacation, when I was the young age of five.

I don’t remember much about it, but we stayed in a big white hotel on the top of a cliff. All of the waiters were Italian and it was fun. I went to Brixham with my Aunt and Uncle and my mother. Brixham is on the English Riviera. You didn’t know there was an English Riviera did you? Feast  your eyes on these photo’s.

I am sure many postcards have this image on them, and postcards are still popular in England.

Brixham Harbor by night

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lots of fishing boats in Brixham

 

Brixham is in Devon, which has a very mild climate. While we were there the weather was beautiful. I remember going for long walks by the bay and seeing palm trees from the very first time.

Palm Trees on the English Riviera

 

 

 

 

 

I had only seen Palm trees in photographs. Because the waiters in our hotel were Italian, and there were Palm trees outside, I thought we must be in Italy. My aunt and uncle laughed when I asked them if we were. To confuse me even more, they took me out to an Italian Restaurant for dinner.

Maybe this is what started my love affair with Italy.

I didn’t actually make it to Italy until I was 15, and that was with the same Aunt, (crazy Aunty Jeannie) and my mum. We had even more fun on this trip. It was my first trip ‘abroad’ and it was to the busy resort of Rimini on the Adriatic Riviera.

Busy Rimini beaches

 

Rimini was a popular place for both young and old. The beaches were incredibly busy, but it was fun. After my first trip to Italy I was hooked and my love affair with everything Italian started.

Hotel President – stayed here in 1972, 1973 and 1974. Glad to see it’s still there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Italy is my favorite place in the world and I never tire of it. I have visited Rimini, Lido de Jesolo, Florence, Rome, Venice, San Marino, Verona, Lake Garda, Pompeii, Frascati, Sorrento and many places in between. Will I go back. Of course, its in my blood.

 

 

Leave a Reply

