Venice

I don’t know why I started to think about Venice, but I did. Those of you who follow my blogs know that Italy is always on my mind.

My first visit to Venice was on my very first trip to Italy with my mum and eccentric aunt. I was a teenager at the time. We took a day trip from Rimini. We sat in St. Mark’s Square and had tea.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We took a gondola of course, which was way overpriced, but worth every penny.

 

The second time I visited Venice was in 1983. I was 26 years old. My husband and I drove to Rimini from Dortmund, Germany, where we lived at the time. The drive took two days, but it a was spectacular drive through the Alps. Rimini was busy and full of tourists, but lots of fun. We took a trip to Venice and were totally smitten. We took many photographs as we wandered through the back streets. It was a magical place and I knew I would return. I remember eating pizza by the Grand Canal. My husband bought a pair of  Yves St. Lauren pants in one of the fancy boutiques. They were tailored to fit him and he treasured them for many years to come.

Bridge of Sighs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our last visit to Venice was in 1993. It was by far the most spectacular. My husband, my six-year-old daughter and I, took a vacation in Lido de Jesolo. We visited many places whilst we were there. Lake Garda, Verona, San Marino and of course Venice. Before arriving in Venice we went to Murano and Burano both of which were beautiful.

Colorful Murano, Italy.

 

 

Beautiful Burano

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These two small towns were a pleasure to visit and I wished we could have stayed longer. Even my six-year-old daughter was speechless as she skipped happily through the streets of Burano. Lovely memories. I would like to go back soon and make some more.

Rialto Bridge, Grand Canal, Venice.

 

Leave a Reply

