Italy 2014

No I am not talking about World Cup Football, I am talking about my next trip to Italy. In 2014 I am entitled to my next Sabbatical from work. I will have been with the company for 15 years. Where am I going? Italy of course. Yes I know 2014 is a couple of years away, but a girl has to dream. It is going to be a special vacation as my daughter and her boyfriend are accompanying us. We will be celebrating her 30th birthday.

I already have my itinerary planned.

Fly into Rome of course. Where to stay? Marriott Hotel Grand Flora, that bit is easy!

View from Marriott Hotel Grand Flora in Rome

We stayed in this beautiful hotel whilst in Rome in 2010. It was enchanting and the staff were both friendly and entertaining. I won’t even look anywhere else.

After four days in Rome where next? Lake Garda! In 1993 we had a family Vacation in Lido De Jesolo. We took a trip from there to Lake Garda and my husband continues to talk about it, so we will spend four days in Rome before renting a car and driving to Lake Garda for a few days. From there we can visit Verona, Milan, Venice, Murano and Burano. Lovely!

Image by Italy Lake Garda (See Blogroll)

Following Lake Garda, a drive south to Tuscany. I like the look of the hotel below.

Tuscan Hill Top Hotel

From here we can explore the Tuscan countryside before returning to Roma for the last couple of nights.

Sounds like a dream right? It is a dream that is going to come true, I will make sure of it.

I may have to wait until the FIFA World Cup is over as it is being held in Brazil in 2014 and will be much easier to watch from my home in Colorado, but once it’s done…..Italy here we come.

Can’t wait!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfirstclasstravel
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 18:13:14

    If you have time at lake Garda, head to either bellagio on lake como or Stresa on lake Maggiore. Very different to each other but both stunning in their own way

    Reply

    • Sandra
      Jul 01, 2012 @ 19:04:25

      Thank you very much. I am excited already and I have to wait for another two years. I will check out both lake Como and Lake Maggiore. Any more advice is much appreciated.

      Reply

      • frugalfirstclasstravel
        Jul 01, 2012 @ 20:26:42

        I have some photos of Stresa on my blog – if you scroll down the home page there is a section on Italy and you can click on the post. Weather wasn’t particularly good but you can get the general impression. I can put some up of bellagio – have just not got around to it đŸ™‚

  2. Sandra
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 20:36:35

    Thanks, I will.

    Reply

  3. Italo
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 04:44:01

    Hi Sandra. I’m glad you are using one of my images, but please put a link to it.
    The image https://travelwithsandra.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/lake-garda-italy-malcesine-view.jpg should link to http://www.lake-garda-italy.net/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

