Steamboat Springs – Concert – Rodeo – Fun

The journey to Steamboat Springs was beautiful once we got off the I70. I love the Colorado Rockies with its Peaks and Valleys. Gorgeous. We arrived at the Steamboat Grand Hotel and weren’t disappointed. The room was small, but with a king bed, a balcony and a beautiful view.
I sat and enjoyed the view for a while. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and my gift to my husband was an Ashiatsu Massage!

With a little time to myself I explored the restaurants and shops a the base of Werner Mountain and then, at four o clock, the bar opened. Time to give myself an anniversary gift. Champagne!

I was soon joined by my husband and we took advantage of the happy hour by enjoying some half price drinks. Yes even the champagne was half price. We shared a delicious shrimp and polenta appetizer, followed by some perfectly cooked steak. Delicious!

 

Next we took the complimentary shuttle into the town of Steamboat Springs and followed the crowds to the Rodeo. We purchased tickets, but killed some time at an open air concert until it started. The band blasted out out James Brown. Wish I could remember their name….Randy something. They were good.

Then I went to my very first Rodeo. Never thought my dear husband, who is Jamaican, would go to a Rodeo. It was his idea too. The bull riding scared me a little, especially as one poor cowboy seemed to get hurt. I really enjoyed the horses and the steer roping though.

After the Rodeo we called the complimentary Steamboat Grand shuttle and went back to the hotel bar for a nightcap. It had been a full day and we went back to our room quite exhausted.

The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. I was ready for a good nights sleep, but excited about my second day in the lovely Colorado town of Steamboat Springs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

