Family

Lets talk about family. After all it is part of life’s journey and believe me that journey has more than a few tales and mishaps.

My family has never been close, which is sad. When you are young, you don’t care about anything except having fun and meeting someone to share your life with.

Every day is a new adventure. Life is fresh and new. You get excited about everything, butterflies in your tummy are a regular experience. Who needs family? Life is full.

I was fifteen years younger than the younger of my two brothers. I loved them both dearly, but they were always feuding. My brothers were both incredibly smart. One was hard-working and serious. The other was a joker who put money ahead of everything, and did what ever he could to get it, hurting anyone who got in his way. I think he had a good heart, but the Devil was in his soul.

His obsession with money (as well as other things) tore the family apart. Thirty years ago that didn’t matter, now it does. It makes me very sad.

Strange as it sounds, his death brought some of us together again. My lovely nieces (who are almost the same age as me) and I are friends again. I am in touch with their wonderful talented children and trying to make up for the years that slipped away.

Unfortunately the wounds are too deep to be healed for some of my family and they remain strangers. I understand why, but what a shame. Life is so short.

If anyone reading this is feuding with your family, STOP NOW!

Life flies by in the blink of an eye. Keep your family close to you. Stay in touch with them, even if you live thousands of miles away. Don’t let your future be filled with regret.

Yesterday I was twenty. Today I am fifty-five and trying to cram so much into the next ten years or so. I hope I have the energy to complete all I need to do.

And so endeth my lesson for today! One of my very favorite families is pictured below.

 

Leave a Reply

