I LOVE SOUP!

I write and I cook, so I decided to write about my cooking this week. Every Sunday I make a big pan of soup to eat during the week. My schedule is always crazy so soup works great. My husband can heat it up during the day (he works from home). I can take it to work with me. It is nutritious and good. Do I ever use a recipe? Seldom!

I will call this soup Curried Sweet Potato and Chicken although it contains many more ingredients.

Ingredients

1/4 of a medium onion (chopped)

3 Serrano peppers (Chopped)

1 tbsp coconut oil

2 large sweet potatoes

4 carrots (Chopped)

3 tomatoes (Chopped)

1 cup of dried large lima beans (previously soaked, boiled and rinsed)

2 cooked chicken breasts (I used leftovers from the previous evening’s dinner)

32 ozs of Chicken stock, home-made or bought. (I like the cartons from Sprouts Farmers Market)

Curry powder/salt and pepper.

Heat the coconut oil in a large heavy based pan and add onions and Serrano peppers, cook for about five minutes until are soft. Add chopped sweet potatoes and carrots and stir in 2 tablespoons of curry pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. Mix all ingredients together so curry powder evenly coats everything. Add chopped tomatoes and stir everything together well.

Add chicken broth and allow mixture to simmer until the carrots and potatoes are soft ( 15 – 20 mins). Remove from heat and using a hand blender, blend all ingredients together. (I prefer doing it this way, but you can pour into a separate blender) You should now have a nice smooth mixture.

Add beans and chopped chicken breast and stir. If you want a thick soup, no need to add any more liquid. For a thinner soup add more chicken stock or water.

Allow to simmer for another 20 minutes allowing all of the flavors to mix.

You now have a delicious wholesome soup. Because I hate waste, my soups are made from leftovers and the contents of my refrigerator. I always keep cartons of chicken stock in the cupboard (never tins) because you never know when you will need them.

You could put a swirl of half and half or double cream on the top of this if you want it to look ‘fancy’. I also make all of my own bread and would serve this with butter rolls. Crackers would go just as well.

I never buy any canned soups because I don’t like the extra ingredients they add. I am not retired, or a stay at home mum, I work a full-time job, write fiction novels, work out three times a week after work and manage my husband’s IT Security business. The reason I am telling you this because I want you to know that making your own soup, sauces, puree is easy and more beneficial for your health.

This was my first attempt at recipe sharing, so I would love feedback, criticism or whatever else you would like to share with me.

Follow me on Facebook

STOP TALKING TO ME (this is my author blog)

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wartica
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 15:07:25

    I’m with on this one because soup is like tea for me: it always relaxes and warms me up:) Thanks for the recipe and I can’t wait to try it out with coconut oil:))

    Reply

  2. trixfred30
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 15:16:46

    I love the soup and the pot – it looks like my favourite (and only really) orange cooking pot

    Reply

  3. recipeshappen
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 16:47:25

    Looks fantastic! I love the sweet potato soup I have made, but this recipe looks good, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

