Officially Christmas!

I feel like I have climbed the steep hill to Christmas, and now I am looking down into a beautiful valley of lights and good will.

Christmas in AspenWe allow ourselves to be stressed leading up to Christmas, rushing around shopping, buying gifts, attending and arranging parties, forgetting what Christmas is all about. Nothing will change this, it’s what we do. Christmas is a little over a week away, and I am almost done with shopping. It’s time enjoy my friends and family. Spend time with them reflecting on previous years.

We will talk about those who are no longer with us. Remembering happy times of years gone by. Do I miss my mother at Christmas? Of course, but somehow I think she is with me still.

My mother would attend Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve. Sometimes I went with her. It was magical. Afterwards we would sit together by the Christmas tree at home and enjoy a glass of Sherry whilst opening our ‘Christmas Eve Present’. They were special times.

So after the hustle and bustle of shopping and cooking, take time to sit down and make memories with your loved ones. Remember what Christmas is about. We celebrate Christmas in memory of the birth of a very special child.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pigeon Heart
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 09:16:01

    Happy holidays. That picture is beautiful!!

    Reply

  2. Kevin J. Parham
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 09:21:27

    Great post; heartwarming and sincere. I concur with your assessment of what the Holidays are all about. BTY, the picture is wonderful—a joyous shot of what appears to be a spectacular winter wonderland! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the pic.

    Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  3. Sandra
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 22:00:24

    We should all make the most of the holidays. It is a magical time of the year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

