EuroDisney 1992 – still loving the French – third visit was a charm.

In 1992, when my daughter was 8 years old, my husband and I visited France for the third time. We went to Disney World Paris. Our first Disney adventure. We LOVED it.

We took a bus tour from our home in Chatham, Kent. It was very exciting for my daughter, and for us. We stayed in a modest hotel on the outskirts of Paris. Our first meal was almost a disaster. My eight year old tasted creamed spinach for the first time, and almost couldn’t swallow it. Her face turned as green as the spinach and I held my breath, waiting for the green slime to come spurting out of her mouth like a scene from the exorcist.

Our hotel room was small, and very basic, but we didn’t spend much time in it. We walked for miles in the enchanted new Disney Park. My husband often left us and returned to the hotel after an overload of Mickey and friends, but my daughter and I stayed long into the night. We experienced the rides over and over again, our favorite being ‘The Pirates of the Caribbean‘. We watch Tinkerbell fly high above us after dark. It was my first visit to a Disney Park and it was truly magical.Disneyland Paris Magic Christmas Season Launch

Then there was Paris itself. We spent a wonderful hot day in the City of Lights. A boat trip on the Seine was the highlight of the day for me. Our overheated little girl joined the French children and ran through The Trocadero Fountains to keep cool. My husband climbed the Eiffel Tower, yes he took the stairs.

14915042-the-eiffel-tower-and-trocadero-fountain-in-paris-france

We strolled along the cobbled streets of the Latin Quarter and ate delicious food  in a wonderful lively restaurant. The day was perfect. It was perfect because of the wonderful, gracious, cultured and sometimes bashful French.

Latin Quarter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pride in Photos Photography
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 11:14:44

    I have been reading through your last 3-4 posts and have enjoyed them. Looking forward to seeing more in the future…Happy Wednesday to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

