When in Rome……….

I love Italy

Italy is the place I love more than anywhere in the world, even more than my home in Colorado. I moved to Colorado from England in 1995, along with my husband and my lovely daughter and don’t get me wrong, I LOVE it here, but my heart will always be in Italy.

My first visit to Italy was in 1973. I went to Rimini on the Adriatic Coast with my mother and my aunt. It was love at first sight. I returned in the summer of 1974 and 1975. In 1976 I met my husband and in 1977, we were married and life got in the way of vacations for a while. The next time we visited Italy was 1983. We drove from Germany, where my husband was stationed with the British Army. It was a wonderful road trip in our new black Alfa Romeo, a fitting car for the journey. I enjoyed showing my husband around the wonderful resort of Rimini.

In 1984 I gave birth to my lovely daughter, and vacations were put on hold for a while. In 1993, we took her to Italy for the first time. We stayed in Lido di Jesolo. She loved it and was soon hooked on Italy, just as I was. We visited Venice, Murano, Burano, Verona and Lake Garda. The weather wasn’t always perfect, but the country of Italy was.

In 2010, my husband and I visited Italy once again, this time we flew to Rome. I was overwhelmed by the city of Rome. Two weeks were not long enough to take it all in so there is no doubt I will have to return. When is the next trip planned? 2015 and I intend to stay for a month!

Rimini

Rimini

Rialto Bridge

Rialto Bridge

Lido di Jesolo street

Lido di Jesolo street

Murano

Murano

burano-venice-italy-1

Burano

Verona

Verona

Lake Garda

Lake Garda

Rome

Rome

CIMG0660

Rome

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where am I going on my next visit to Italy? I have to see Rome one more time, and then Tuscany is a MUST! This time it will be a wonderful trip of family and friends. My husband and I will enjoy the company of my daughter and her new husband, my very best friend and her husband and two children, and maybe one more couple. We will all bask in the sun and enjoy the people of Italy. The land of romance and dreams.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael Shandrick (@MikeShandrick)
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 17:32:02

    God created Italy out of pearls and marble and tossed the chips into what is now Colorado,

    Reply

    • Sandra
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 17:38:09

      What a lovely way to put it. I think you are exactly right. Colorado is honestly the only place I have felt really at home. One day, if I get rich, I will retire to Italy and maybe vacation in Colorado.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

