Healthy – FOCUSED – Nourished – ME!

Healthy food

I am one of those people who has to watch what I eat. ALWAYS!

I’m not a bad eater, I don’t really like sweet things, but it seems I gain weight easily.

I have dieted with Weight Watchers, body for life and Metabolic research centers, to name but a few.

I work out as often as I can and walk almost every lunchtime. I don’t buy canned, processed or frozen food. My fridge is full of fresh vegetables. I drink lots of water, so as you can see, basically I should be slim and healthy. Why then, is it so bloody tough to keep the weight off.

Who knows?

I think I may have found the answer, for me anyway.

Juicing!

Now before I tell you about my new toy, I want you to know, I am NOT grossly overweight. I am five feet eight inches tall, a dress size ten and weigh about 165 pounds. I would like to weigh 155 pounds, but have just had so much trouble shedding the stubborn ten pounds to get me there.  I could blame it on my metabolism slowing down with age (I’m 56). The truth is, when it comes to losing weight, (or not) there is only one person I can blame, and that is me.

I started to read about about folks who were replacing one or two meals with freshly juiced fruit and vegetables. I wasn’t much interested at first, but something kept drawing me back to these articles. I did some research on Google and liked what I found.

Yes, I had to give it a try. A couple of weeks ago, I bought myself a Omega masticating cold press juicer.  Looks a bit like a Dalek from Dr. Who doesn’t it……exterminate. 

omega-vrt350-vert-juicer-pic

 

I purchased mine in Beds, Baths and beyond. It wasn’t cheap, but I was determined to give it a try.  Guess what?

I love it.

My husband travels during the week so I don’t have to cook dinner, which made it easy to replace breakfast and dinner with a healthy nourishing fresh juice drink. No recipes, I just juice whatever lookds good, adjusting  the taste by adding different veggies or fruit. Here are some of the things I have juiced so far. (not all at the same time)

Carrots, apples, pears, oranges, limes (limes are really good), grapefruit, cabbage, parsley, broccoli, cucumber, celery, spinach, kale, serano peppers, sweet potatoes, ginger, tomatoes.

There is tons of fresh produce out there just begging to jump into my juicer.

So how have I benefitted?

1.  I have lost seven pounds in two weeks.

2.  I have heaps of energy and a very focused.

3. I feel better, healthier, can’t explain it, I just do.

Sometimes I have a glass of juice and a small piece of protein, and other times I just have the juice. I don’t feel hungry or deprived. At weekends, I just replace breakfast with juice.

Now I have to let you know I am not recommending this as a diet for anyone reading my blog.  I’m not a nutritionist or a doctor. I am simply telling you that I am juicing fruit and veggies (mainly veggies) and I feel GREAT. Oh, and I’m losing weight.

Give it a try.

If you do decide to buy a juicer, do your research. The centrifugal ones aren’t as good. Save your pennies and get the best. It’s worth it. Happy juicing.

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deanco
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 16:56:49

    Nice post. Anyone gains weight easily if they don’t do the right things, even fit people. Even they have to watch what they eat, i am this way. But i don’t let it bother me, its part of my life, like having to work. Eating today is conscious more than ever for most of us. The difference is how often we let ourselves get carried away with it. Some have a better threshold for associating the pain with weight gain and thus leave bad foods alone easier. Focusing on that i feel is the answer to leaving the bad foods alone. A form of self NLP you could say. The produce avenue you hopped on is great stuff, congrats on your loss – keep at it 🙂 – just don’t forget you do need to keep some moderate protein in your diet.

    Reply

    • Sandra
      Aug 07, 2013 @ 19:17:50

      Thanks. Always a struggle. I do eat healty lean protein too. So tough to find the right balance in life these days.

      Reply

      • deanco
        Aug 07, 2013 @ 19:44:15

        Yes i understand it is hard. Getting the cupboard full of the right things and empty of the bad helps – and making sure you don’t replace them when shopping 🙂 The more you practice and stay on it, the easier it gets i think.

Leave a Reply

