Home Away from Home

This post is part of the “Home Away from Home” project, a project that strives to make our cuddly friends feel at home, even when home is far away. This means something different to everyone, but “Home Away from Home” can be created by good people in a caring environment. To learn more about this project, go to DogVacay.com

I was born and raised in the North of England, a lovely part of the world, but I don’t yearn to go back. I moved to Colorado in January 1995. It’s where I call home. I love the space and the freedom. I enjoy waking up and looking at the Rocky Mountains. I relax on my deck in the evening, sometimes with a glass of wine, as I watch the sun set. Beautiful isn’t it!

DSC01368

The view from my deck in Colorado

“Where is your home away from home?” you may ask. “How could you find anything better than this?”

One word. ITALY! I’m sure I lived in Italy in a previous life. When I first visited the Italy I was fifteen. It captured my heart. I have lost count of the number of times I have been back. I love the people, the food, the history, the family values and the way of life. Italy is fairly big, so how can I make a general statement that Italy is my home away from home? I can’t decide which city I like the best. I love Sorrento, Rome, Venice, Frascati, Rimini, Lido de Jesolo, Lake Garda, San Marino, San Leo, Verona,  Murano, Burano…….the list goes on. When I step off the plane and breathe Italian air, I feel like I have come home, simple as that. I suppose Rome may be my favorite, but only by a slight margin.

CIMG0291

The old City Walls in Rome

CIMG0486

A lively Restaurant

CIMG0658

A bored horse and card driver at the Spanish Steps

CIMG0675

Wandering the streets of Rome

I haven’t been back to my home away from home since 2010, but next year, I plan to visit for three weeks. A week on the Amalfi Coast, a week in Rome and a week in Tuscany. I absolutely can’t wait. Home away from home means different things to different people. To me it is a place to relax and feel comfortable surrounded by love and warmth.

Dead of July_Cover_in-template

Leave a Reply

