The World Cup – Wembley 1966

The 1966 FIFA World Cup, the eighth staging of the World Cup, was held in England from 11 to 30 July. England beat West Germany 4–2 in the final, winning the World Cup. With this victory, England won their first FIFA World Cup title and became the third World Cup host to win the tournament after Uruguay in 1930 and Italy in 1934.

The 1966 Finals, held at Wembley Stadium, was the last to be broadcast in black and white. The tournament held a 28-year FIFA record for the largest average attendance until it was surpassed by the United States in 1994. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Oh th memories. My (soon to be) step dad and I watched this game together in the livingroom of his old stone house in Gilling West, North Yorkshire. The black and white TV was turned up full blast and the air heavy with cigarette smoke and the aroma of beer. Even at nine years old the excitement of the game consumed me. 1966 World Cup

The final score – 4 – 2 to England. Geoff Hurst was a hero when he scored his third goal, a hat trick. England were the victors against the West German team. My (soon to be) step dad, who was not the athletic sort, stood up, slopping beer everywhere, danced a little jig and then hugged me. I still remember that hug. It was special, it smelled of beer and cigarettes, but it made me feel like I belonged to a family again.

I’ve watched the World Cup ever since. I love the skill of the players, the excitement, the drama, and it  brings back happy memories of my step dad. Enjoy the 2014 games everyone. Italy v. England today…….let the fun begin.

My first novel, Dead of July, is set in West Germany in 1982. World Cup Fever was rampant. The final was between Italy and W. Germany. I was living in West Germany at the time and cheering for Italy to win. That was a game to remember!

http://amzn.to/1aXh4Md

Dead of July_Cover_in-template

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. David Hall
    Jun 14, 2014 @ 12:38:08

    Great memories for me also Sandra. Only four hours before England kick off in this World Cup, here’s hoping that they can emulate the team of 66. Come on Engeland 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

