Dance like there’s no tomorrow!

I was in my mid twenties and a young wife. My husband was in the British Army and we lived in Dorset, far away from my parents, who lived in North Yorkshire. We always travelled home for Christmas, which made my mum extremely happy, but I didn’t realize how happy….until I saw her dance. It was Christmas day, and she was in the kitchen preparing the Christmas Feast. The radio was on and she didn’t hear me open the door. I’ll never ever forget the look of sheer happiness on her face as she danced to a tune I can’t remember. She twirled around the small kitchen, rocking to the beat of the song that played on the radio.

As I think about it now, it makes me emotional. My mum was 65 at the time, but danced like a teenager. She was embarrassed when she saw me watching, but it’s a site I will never forget. I miss you mum.

I wish I had a photo to share, but all I have are memories.

Leave a Reply

