The Interview – follow my progress!

image_interviewHow do you prepare for your first interview in sixteen years? Nervously!

I had a telephone interview with a very nice recruiter on Monday and she scheduled a meeting with the Director of HR. I love talking to people, but I’m not used to ‘blowing my own trumpet’. Something I have to learn I guess.

After working in a business casual, environment for a very long time, I didn’t have anything appropriate to wear. Yes, I had to go shopping for a business suit. Now I have to tell you, shopping is a much-loved pass time of mine, so I wasn’t unhappy a the prospect. This interview may be the first of many so I do need a new wardrobe.

I found a helpful friendly sales consultant in Nordstrom (the best store on the planet) who selected two or three very nice suits. Thanks Nancy! Finally I chose one that was both elegant and comfortable, but of course the pants were too long. They rushed the alterations for me, but I had two hours to kill, which I did in a very pleasant manner. I found a pair of Michael Kors shoes in Nordstrom Rack (in the clearance section) and then had a jolly good glass of Chenin Blanc in Sixth and Pine, the restaurant on the third floor. I’ve become quite friendly with the staff there, especially Karen. It’s a great place to rest, especially after some vigorous Christmas shopping.

The alterations were completed earlier than promised, a phone call from my Nancy told me my suit was ready to pick up. My attire preparation was done, time to go home and research the company I was interviewing with. This is important, you may have questions at the end of your interview.

I went to bed and prayed for sleep. You guessed, it evaded me. After waking up at around 1:30, I tossed and turned for at least two hours. Sleep returned, but not as much as I’d have liked. After a healthy breakfast of a blackcurrant smoothie and a cup of coffee, I prepared myself mentally for my first interview (other than by telephone), in sixteen years. Yes my stomach was churning a little, because it’s a great position, and a perfect fit for me. Wish me luck.

I’ll be back soon with and update…….lets hope it’s a good one.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gayle Giguere
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 09:52:11

    Good luck, fingers crossed — all the best. Gayle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

