The Emotional Journey

DSC02813January 14th – I wake up and for the first time in weeks I don’t have to jump out of bed and be somewhere. My husband is traveling, so I’m alone. I still rise at 7:30, not one to waste the day, but this morning I can sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee, read my emails, edit my long overdue novel, and post a leisurely blog.

It’s been an emotional journey since I lost my job of sixteen years. Bitterness, anger, fear, all brought on by the unknown. I don’t know when I’ll work again. What if nobody likes me? What if I’m too old? I know I have a wealth of experience, but someone can probably pay a younger person half as much to learn. Where does that leave me?

At the moment it leaves me looking out my patio door at this beautiful view, wishing that I didn’t stress so much.

 

Leave a Reply

