A new month and a new attitude – sometimes change is good.

Maybe!

I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster for the last couple of months, wondering if I’ll ever work again. I’ve only been jobless since December, but it feels like forever, probably because it happened so suddenly. It was so unexpected. One day I had a secure future, the next day I was laid off.

When I was in my early thirties I lost my sales consultant position in a department store. The company was in trouble and I was called into HR, along with around fifty other people, and told my position was being cut. Money was tight back then and I just couldn’t lose my pay check. So I sat down and told the shocked HR person that they simply couldn’t manage without me. She was speechless! I didn’t scream or cry, just told her the company needed me. We talked for a while and I went back to my department hopeful. My manager felt so bad, but he was supportive and told me he’d do what he could to keep me. I went home that evening and cried my eyes out, worried about money and the lack of it. My little girl comforted me “You don’t have to give me pocket-money any more mum,” she said. My husband hugged me, “Don’t worry, we’ll be okay!” The following morning I got a call from HR. They’d found me another position within the company, fewer hours, but I still had a job. I was ecstatic! Within four months I had a better position and life was good.

That’s not going to happen this time. I’m sure eventually I’ll find something new and better, but not at the same company, and it may take longer. There’s a little more competition these days. Plus the ripple effect from the drop in Crude Oil prices is making jobs few and far between. I’m open to something new though, because you can teach an old dog new tricks. I’ve offered to help a friend with his business for a while, just until I find something else. We haven’t ironed out the details yet, but it’ll keep me busy and also give me a different kind of experience to add to my resume. Life changes, but goes on, and sometimes change is good.

human-resources-marketing

 

Leave a Reply

