A period of Calm

 

Minolta DSCThis photo was taken in July 2009 in Nuevo Vallarta Mexico. 2009 was a tough year. The company I worked for laid off half of its staff. Bad times! I had a trip to Mexico planned for March, but had to postpone it because of the travel complications caused by the H1N1 (Swine Flu) virus. I badly needed a vacation, but we got there in the end. The resort was peaceful because July isn’t the busiest time to visit Mexico. Many people were still afraid to travel because of H1N1.

I took this photograph on the first evening of my trip. Isn’t it beautiful? For the first time in about six month I felt calm and relaxed. Although I’m not in Mexico now, I do feel relaxed for the first time in four months. I’ve been job hunting and doubting my abilities after being laid off from that same company I survived in 2009.

I was bitter and hurt when they let me go. Seriously, after sixteen years, who wouldn’t feel that way? It’s behind me now though and pretty soon I’ll be starting in a new and exciting position with a new company. My commute is less and my paycheck better. Some things are just meant to be. Yes, I’m a little nervous starting somewhere new after sixteen years, but I’m excited too.

What’s even more exciting is that in less than four months I’m flying to Italy for a three-week vacation with family and friends. I think I’m going to like 2015 very much. Out with the old and in with the new! Happy New Year at last!

If you are looking at my photograph and want to try this breath-taking ‘all inclusive resort’ yourself. It is the exquisite Grand Velas in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. Truly the most relaxing and welcoming place I have ever stayed. Grand Velas – Nuevo Vallarta

 

Leave a Reply

