Greed!

Only one more Friday of being at home before I start my new job. A new adventure I never expected. I look forward to starting a fresh with new friends and colleges and learning new skills in a large International Company. I’ve heard the culture is fantastic. So excited!

For sixteen years I worked at a small private company. The early years were good. We were heavily involved in charities and gave back to the community. I felt I was part of an organization that cared. I was proud to tell people where I worked. Then greed set in!

Greed is an awful thing. There is a huge difference between running a successful business, and greed. Once greed takes hold it’s hard to shake off. Promises were broken, trust lost, loyalty cast aside. When they laid me off, I was hurt and confused, but also a little relieved. It gave me the push I needed to try something new.

Take heed all you entrepreneurs who are starting businesses and tempting employees to come onboard with promises of greatness. Keep your promises! Your company is only as good as those people who work for you. If they believe in you, they’ll do whatever it takes to make you and your venture succeed.

If you betray them and make promises you don’t intent to keep, your business will fail because they won’t believe in you anymore. Loyalty is something you must earn. A great company is built by great people from the bottom up. Lead by example, it’s the only thing that works.

greedy_pig_0

Leave a Reply

