Hiking Castlewood Canyon

Castlewood Canyon

March 15th and weather in the upper seventies in Colorado. A perfect day for a hike in Castlewood Canyon. It took a lot longer than usual to complete the 7 1/2 miles because the Creek Bottom Trail was in different stages of thawing after the winter snow. Some places were still icy, others covered in slush and snow, while some areas were so muddy it was hard to get my footing. All good exercise though.

The first climb of the year to the canyon rim is always tough and I stopped once or twice to catch my breath and enjoy the view. My labors were worth it, beautiful. The walk across the top of the canyon was gorgeous, bathed in sunshine with just a gently breeze.

I only managed one photo, and it was taken at the beginning of my hike with my iPhone. Pike’s Peak in all of its glory!

I’m going to make the effort to hike more this year. Its great exercise and the views are always spectacular.

 

Leave a Reply

