Last Day of Freedom!

I haven’t worked since Thanksgiving! Yes, it’s almost four months since I was laid off from my job of sixteen years. I’m going to be absolutely truthful, I haven’t missed it one bit! I really miss some of the people I worked with, but not all of them. The good thing about not being there anymore is I can choose who I see now. I can get together for a glass of wine with those people I enjoyed working with. It’s a good thing.

images

Tomorrow I start a new job. Am I nervous? A little. However my excitement at meeting new people outweighs my nerves. We work to earn money to pay the bills and maintain our life style, but we need to enjoy the way we earn that money. Eight hours of misery is not the way to do it. I’m pretty sure that isn’t going to happen to me anymore. I was very careful at picking the positions I wanted to interview for. When I interviewed, it wasn’t just about that position. When I made my final decision it was 70% based on the people I’d interviewed with. Could I work with them? Did we have things in common? Would they like me?

Yes, today is my last day of freedom. I start work tomorrow, and I’m nervous, but happy!

Leave a Reply

