You CAN teach this Old Dog New Tricks!

I worked for the same company for almost sixteen years. I got several promotions while I was there, but didn’t shed work, just seemed to collect more. Even with the variety of what I did (in a Corporate Legal Department), I knew my job inside out. New tasks were often assigned to me, but I didn’t bat and eyelid because I knew the company so well. I was the Queen of putting out fires, handling emergencies and generally getting stuff done.

Then they laid me off. There was no warning! I was speechless! I felt sick, scared and betrayed. When you’re in your late fifties you always have that fear that no one will want to employ you. Yes I was being paid severance, but it didn’t make me feel any better. What if I never work again?

Looking back, I wish I’d relaxed and enjoyed my time off a little more. It only took me three months to find a new position with a better salary, better pension and much better PTO. It was meant to be. Funny how things turn out.

Is there any resemblance between the job I left and the one I’m doing now? Not much! They are both in a Legal Department, but that’s about it.

To make my point, don’t worry about your age if you lose your job. Your confidence may take a knock for a while, but you’ll get over it. Many firms today are looking for people with experience and a pleasant personality. You can have qualifications erupting out of your ears, but if you’re clearly unpleasant to work with, no one wants to hire you.

I love my new job, its fast paced, upbeat, and I work with a great group of people. So remember, there is life after layoffs and yes…….I’m living proof you CAN teach a dog new tricks!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oxherder
    May 27, 2015 @ 02:27:01

    Hey, congrats on coming out the other side better off. 🙂

    Reply

  2. prog chik
    Jun 19, 2015 @ 14:29:20

    I’m happy to hear things worked out for you. It sounds like things such as having a relevant skill set, positive attitude, and work experience may have helped you. Unfortunately, not everyone is as lucky–some things fall out of our control.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

