Dallas Texas – Big Hair, Swank and Shoulder Pads?

I’ve lived in the US for over 20 years and became a Citizen back in 2004. Yes, the Queen is missing a subject, wonder if she notices.

This country still puts a smile on my face. Our home is Colorado, but we travel as often as possible.

Favorite cities in the US?

San Francisco and New Orleans! They have both lured me back more than once.

I also enjoy Dallas. My first visit was a quick business trip about ten years ago. I stayed in the jazzy Hotel ZaZa and was proudly shown the city by the locals. The Dallas skyline is amazing, especially at night.

Dallas at night

I returned to Dallas earlier this year, after my daughter’s career caused her to move there. I stayed once more in the Hotel Zaza, still lovely, but unfortunately, due to some badly behaved guests, my visit was spoiled. I’ll not stay there again. Dallas itself was very enjoyable. Great food!

My third exploration of Dallas begins Friday. This time I’m staying in the Downtown Marriott. Marriott’s are usually trustworthy!

The highlight of my visit (other than seeing my daughter and son in law), will be our meal in The French Room at the Adolphus Hotel, a birthday treat for a young lady turning 31. Yes, that means I’m getting really old.

french room dallas

I always thought Dallas was the center of big hair, swank and shoulder pads. The swank is definitely still there, but it’s now a stylish, ritzy city that I’m sure I’ll get to know well. Stay tuned for my report on the French Room!

Leave a Reply

