Ziggy Played Guitar

It’s taken me all week to be able to blog about David Bowie.

I’d never have survived my crazy teenage years without him. I’d lock myself in my bedroom and play his music as loud as my parents would allow me. I didn’t listen to it, I felt it. I’m pretty sure he wrote ‘Life on Mars’ just for me. Hunky Dory was probably my favorite Album, so as you can guess, the most difficult of my teenage years were during the early seventies. I loved David Bowie. I loved his smile, his style, his crazy make up, his odd eyes. I loved that he was different, because I felt different too.

His style, magic and music changed with the times. It never dated.

I’m 59 now, ten years younger than my idol was when he passed away. A little bit of my life went with him.

Now I hope he’s looking down at the world, and maybe sharing a joke with the second great Englishman that died this week. I’m talking about Alan Rickman of course. May the both rest in peace.

robin_hood_0

 

Leave a Reply

