Gluten Free – Beware!

gluten_free_club_cartoon_gluten-ectomyAfter fighting stomach issues for a while, I discovered I may have Celiac Disease. I had all the signs of adult Celiac, right down to the early onset of mild Osteoporosis. Nothing to panic about, just a lifestyle change…come on, its only gluten. I can still drink wine!

I cut gluten from my diet in January and after about a month, began to feel the benefits. My stomach issues aren’t gone, but I’d say they’re 70% better. The main thing I noticed, after being gluten-free for over a month, is how different I feel. I didn’t realize I had brain fog until I didn’t have it anymore. I feel nimble, even though I haven’t lost a huge amount of weight. Three or four pound slid away without my noticing, but nothing drastic.

I’m sharper, quicker to react to things. The difference is quite stunning and I’m very happy about it. Having told you all of this I want to add a big BEWARE!

My diet since January has included more fruit and veggies. I buy Gluten Free pasta and substitute rice for a lot of things. Not a big hardship really. However, this weekend I decided to treat myself to some Gluten Free crackers. Just felt the need!

BIG MISTAKE!

I read the package carefully and it stipulated everything was Gluten Free! They made me sick! My stomach became bloated I got heartburn. All the old symptoms I’d worked so hard to cure returned, and quickly. So Celiac people, and those of you who are Gluten intolerant beware. Stick to naturally Gluten Free foods its safer.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amw62
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 13:17:18

    So sorry that you got sick again from GF crackers! Is it possible that somewhere on the package it says that it was manufactured in a facility with wheat/gluten? I find that sometimes things that say they’re gluten free and have completely gluten free ingredients are processed on the same equipment as wheat, which could cause some cross contamination. If not, like you said, sticking to naturally gluten free foods is your best bet at not getting sick again. I personally have never had that kind of issue–just a suggestion: keep an eye on it to maybe see if you might be sensitive to some other ingredient that was in the crackers.
    https://gfdeliciously.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. spaghettiheadmaster
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 13:41:30

    Thanks for the post. I found changing my diet to reduce meat and dairy was massively beneficial in reducing my brain fog and making me feel more energetic. I also eat lots of fruit and veggies now.

    Reply

  3. kathybruton2
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 18:04:20

    I agree wholeheartedly with ^ amw62. The label may say gluten free..but always read the fine print. If it’s processed in a facility that also processes wheat..better to stay away. The only gf products I will even look twice at are the ones that have the Certified gf label on it. But yes, the even better idea is to stick to fruits & veggies. Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Paige
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 00:36:50

    Just a heads up: If you plan to be tested for celiac disease, you will need to continue to eat gluten until you get the blood work and endoscopy. If not, you may get a false negative. I’m extremely sensitive to gluten (can’t share surfaces/utensils) but I have never had a problem with gluten free crackers unless they have been on the same surface as gluten. I’m sorry to hear you had a reaction! I wonder if you are allergic to something found commonly in gluten containing foods that those crackers had. Sometimes people require the FODMAP diet rather than just gluten free. Best of luck to you!

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 11:14:44

    In the United States, companies can label their products “Gluten Free” if they contain 20 ppm or less of gluten. So they are not necessarily “gluten free.” In Australia, for example, Gluten Free products must contain 0-5 ppm of gluten. A lot of people with celiac disease report not being able to tolerate the American idea of GF products.
    Of course, it could also be a different thing in the crackers that bothered you. Myself, I can’t tolerate inulin. It is very painful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

