The Big Adventure!

700320

700320

It all started in March of 1994! My daughter watched a show on TV called “Wish You Were Here.” It was presented by Judith Chalmers and was all about a train ride through the Rocky Mountains from Banff to Denver. “Oh mum, what a great place to have and adventure,” she said. She was eight years old at the time.

As a family we loved to travel, but we’d never been to the US. “Looks like fun,” I said, “Lets talk to dad when he gets home from work.

We moved to Denver in January of 1995, less that a year later. My husband left a great career with the Bank of England and started work as a consultant with a company in Golden. He travelled with work so through him, my daughter and I travelled too!

The first six months were rough. We were living on one salary instead of two. I had to make new friends and the culture in Denver was much different from what I was used to. So was the language (believe it or not) and the food. Now people knock the food in England, but I missed the Indian, French and Italian Restaurants, which weren’t so good when we arrived in Denver. Denver has come a long way since then and the restaurants are great here now, but back in 1995, that wasn’t really the case.

I couldn’t work for the first couple of years because my visa wouldn’t permit me to. I couldn’t even do Charity work. How ridiculous is that!

Here we are in 2017. I live in Franktown, a beautiful rural area, with a view of Devil’s Head Mountain and Pike’s Peak. My daughter is happily married and lives in Dallas, she’ll most likely have a family of her own soon.

I still strive for adventure and love finding new places to explore, but I guess moving to the US was my big adventure, and I’m still enjoying it. Maybe one day soon we’ll actually take a ride on that train, after all, it’s what brought us here.

Leave a Reply

