Breaking the Habit!

Nike

How many steps have I done? Got to reach 10,000 – no wait, let’s go for 13,000! Oh no, forgot to put on my fitbit, got to turn around and go home to get it.

Does that sound stressful to you?

It all started with the Nike Fuel. My first fitness tracker. I really enjoyed using it. All I wanted to do was track my steps and try to walk five miles each day. It was simple to use, fairly nice to look at and it served its purpose well.

Unfortunately, just before mine needed replacing, Nike stopped making them. Rumor has it that Apple poached their experts. I had to find a new way to track my steps, (well I didn’t have to, but it had become a habit). I invested in a fitbit! The first one I bought was the Fitbit Flex. Didn’t care for it at all. The band didn’t display as much info as I needed, plus it got me hooked into recording everything I ate, drank as well as logging my sleep patterns. I used it for a while, but spent too much time at my computer, inputting my life.

Next I bought a Fitbit Alta. I liked the display on this one. Steps, miles, calories. It also buzzed when my phone rang, or when I got a text! Then there were the competitions….. Was I the step leader for the week. YES! How was everyone else doing? How many miles can I do before noon. Yes, it made me get up and walk, but really, shouldn’t I be doing that anyway? It was synced with my phone and I checked it WAY TOO OFTEN.

Last night, while packing my grocery shopping in the back of my car, I went to check my steps. OMG! SHOCK! HORROR!

My Fitbit wasn’t there! OK calm down! I went back into the grocery store and looked around, checked the parking lot, checked my purse, my shopping bags, my car! My heart was beating fast. How many steps have I done?

I drove home, wondering if I should stop off and buy a new one in Target or Walmart so I didn’t miss recording too many steps!

Wait a minute, stop right there!

I’m almost sixty. I’ve managed to walk and exercise without being reminded, for my whole life. Why oh why is this a problem? I chuckled to myself as I drove home!

When I got out of bed this morning I didn’t immediately rush to find that ugly piece of plastic and put it on my arm. It felt good. I’m looking at my little gold bracelet that I haven’t appreciated in months because it’s always been hidden. I’m still walking! I’ll still exercise and eat healthily. Not checking my steps every twenty minutes means I have one less thing to worry about. One day I’ll get an apple watch, which will be much more difficult to lose because it has a sensible strap with a buckle, but I’ll buy it when I’m ready. For now I’m going to enjoy life and be FITBIT FREE!

Leave a Reply

