Accepting a Gut-Wrenching Change

Michelle Obama 2020

Michelle Obama 2020

On Tuesday evening, when I realized how the election was going to play out, I took something to help me sleep and went to bed. With out a sleep aid, I’d have been awake all night planning my escape from the US. Silly really, I love my home in Colorado. Sure if I had enough money I’d buy a second home in Italy, and stay there as often as I could, but my daughter, and her husband live here. I’m not going to run away from the people I love.

I got to thinking about why I was so upset. There are the obvious reasons. Donald Trump’s campaign was filled with hate and negativity. His profile was that of a male chauvinistic pig. Was that an act to get people’s attention? Will the real Donald Trump be a kinder gentler man?

Then there’s this Pence guy. He terrifies me. He looks like a Nazi. Looks can be deceiving though can’t they? I’ve read about him and he really is very right-wing! Much too right-wing for me.

Then I thought about Barack Obama and what a graceful, intelligent, thoughtful president he has been. I’ll miss both him and his beautiful family.

I just hope our new government remembers this is the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave. We don’t want to be dictated to, just need a little guidance. I hope the new government listens to us. Every country has good folks and bad folks, and some that are a little bit of both. Lets throw all of our beliefs and values into a big pot and mix them together.

Maybe the end result will be spectacular.

Oh, and one last thought……..Michelle Obama 2020. She already has my vote!

Leave a Reply

