Relaxing in Ascoli Piceno – Rilassatevi ad Ascoli Piceno

Ascoli Piceno reminds me so much of Rome.

Friday morning was beautiful. Villa Lempa market was buzzing with conversation and laughter from both stall holders and shoppers. The locals hug me now and give me the double cheek kiss when they see me. It’s a good feeling. I didn’t think the double kiss would ever return after covid.

I always stop on the veggie stall, and the gentleman who serves me is quite the joker. When I asked him if his bunches of peppers were hot he looked at me with a twinkle in his eye and said,
“Sì, signora, per favore, provane uno.” (Yes, would you like to try one)
I wasn’t going to of course, knowing he wanted to laugh at me when my mouth caught fire, but before I had chance to reply, his other customers reacted on my behalf.
“NO! Non mangiarne uno, fa troppo caldo!” (No, don’t eat one, they are too hot)
We all laughed. I bought a couple of bunches and made four small jars of hot sauce when I got home.

On Saturday, after a busy morning, we decided head down to Ascoli Piceno and chill. It was very hot, but it felt good. Hubby had a gelato at the best gelataria in town “Qui Si Gode”, which translates as “You can enjoy it here”, and enjoy it he did. We wandered a little, and then sat in Piazza Arringo, where I sipped a Prosecco, and watched the world go by.

Qui Si Gode, best gelato in Ascoli Piceno.

Leave a comment